Tel Aviv takes season opener, 11-6

Aaron Tracy scored five goals to lead Tel Aviv LC past Jerusalem LC, 11-6, at Hayarkon Sportek on Friday.

Jerusalem (0-1) surprised the home side with a fierce pace in the first quarter, as Yochanan Katz and Gabriel Leonhard each scored a pair of goals to help their team jump out to a quick 4-2 lead. However, Tel Aviv (1-0) answered back with four straight goals to take a 6-4 advantage at the half.

Tel Aviv goaltender Reuven Dressler shut the door, allowing just two second half goals as his offense barraged Ben Levine and the Jerusalem defense with constant pressure. Levine played well but could not turn away enough shots to steal the win.

Tracy was named game MVP, while Peter Cawley (three goals, one assist), Mikey Pfeffer (one goal, two assists), Jesse Kane (one goal, one assist), and Joshua Pankin (one goal) chipped in on offense. Dressler, a three-time winner (1992-1994) of the L.C. Stowell Award presented annually to the most valuable player at Yale University, earned the win in his Israeli debut.

Katz (two goals, one assist), Leonhard (two goals), Matt Flapan (one goal), Jack Jacobs (one goal), Alex Abdurakhmanov (two assists) and Jason Lurie (one assist) led the Jerusalem offense. Levine was credited the loss in goal.

The game was played under the rules and regulations of the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) and was 80 minutes in length. The two teams will meet again in March (details TBD) in their second meeting of the 18-match season. Expansion clubs in Ashkelon and Netanya are expected to join the league later this year.

Additional caps – Tel Aviv: Ian Cohen, Alex Kossar, David Lasday, Mathew Markman, Davey Siegal … Jerusalem: Lawrence Badzin, Johnny Eisenberg, Jordan Marcus, Alex Milgrom, Adam Waddell, Alec Zimmerman.

Click on the team photo to view action shots from the game, courtesy of Gideon Holtz:
[EasyGallery id=’seasonopenerintelaviv’]
Questions and Comments about photography please email at:

Category: featured  |  Tags: